The Pantheon
March 31, 2020, 04:28:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Problem with SMT  (Read 18599 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
caders
Initiate
*
Posts: 2


« on: April 10, 2009, 11:49:16 AM »

I've been playing Shin Megami Tensei for awhile now and I've encountered a problem I can't seem to get around.  I'm at the part where I've just returned to earth and everything is destroyed.  According to my walkthrough I'm supposed to speak with Ozawa and he should summon a demon for me to fight. However, when I speak to him he says he's busy and I should come back later.  Is this some sort of glitch or did I somehow miss something?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
IP Logged
Chibi Kami
Beta Tester
Deacon
*
Posts: 108



« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2009, 05:41:47 PM »

Ah, a newbie. I don't mean that in any demeaning way, just welcome to the fold.

SMT1 didn't receive a thorough debugging process, so you'll be running into glitches even worse than this one seems to be. Hope you won't be going Law this playthrough; You won't be able to rescue the octopus.

Uh, let's see... Have you visited the basement below the disco and triggered the convo where you learn about his pact with the demons?

By the way, you may be interested to learn that there are official names for the characters.
Main hero: Kazuya
Law hero: Yuji
Chaos Hero: Takeshi
Love interest: Yuka
IP Logged

The power of love is the most chaotic and destructive force in the known universe.
caders
Initiate
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2009, 05:48:03 PM »

Thanks for the welcoming.

I don't think I have gone below the disco actually, I'll try it immediately. Thanks so much for the info! :]

Yeah, I've been reading around about the glitches to see if anyone else had had this problem. I guess there's a lot. Surprising I didn't run into others before now actually.

I'm taking the neutral path, so luckily I won't have to deal with the octopus thing.

Thanks again!
IP Logged
shinCD
Guest
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2009, 04:44:50 AM »

I have an issue just starting it during the tutorial dungeon:
insted of naming your character, somthing having to do with the attack knife show up and skips the naming
IP Logged
shinCD
Guest
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2009, 12:57:14 PM »

i may have found an soulution: all i have to say so far is watch the bad dump youtube video : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aq2kJ5KRk2E
and read the description. all I know is that the file that it speaks of is clean (not patched) so go on and fix it
IP Logged
Gideon Zhi
Archmagus
Cleric
*****
Posts: 451



« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2009, 04:11:46 PM »

Your problem is that the patch is made to be used on a ROM with a copier header. Start over from scratch with a clean ROM, add the copier header, then apply the patch.

And next time, READ THE README.
IP Logged

Tenacious2
Initiate
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2010, 06:51:59 AM »

Excuse me but I have the same problem with the opening scene as the about use but I do not understand how to give a file the copier header and SNES Tool is not compatible with my version of Windows. This is my first time patching a ROM. Could you please help me? I have read the instructions several times and performed the process but this error still occurs. By changing the header do you mean changing the file name or something else?
IP Logged
JayBee
Sentinel
Bishop
*****
Posts: 1326


« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2010, 10:40:52 AM »

Well, I'll be damned... SNESTool IS finally breaking.

Try NSRT.



And the copier header is actually inside the file. It's entirely unrelated to the file name.
IP Logged

APPRIVOISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tenacious2
Initiate
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2010, 11:18:26 AM »

You still have not told me how to put in a copier header.
IP Logged
JayBee
Sentinel
Bishop
*****
Posts: 1326


« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2010, 09:07:02 PM »

You want me to type out step-by-step instructions for the use of NSRT? When it comes with a manual written in plain english?
IP Logged

APPRIVOISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tenacious2
Initiate
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2010, 06:09:14 AM »

NSRT will not work on the patch itself so I need to change the header the hard way. How do I do that?
IP Logged
JayBee
Sentinel
Bishop
*****
Posts: 1326


« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2010, 12:07:28 AM »

You should be using NSRT on the ROM image, not the patch.
The ROM IMAGE needs the header added to it.
NOT THE PATCH. THE ROM IMAGE.

...

*sigh*

After downloading and extracting the NSRT zip file, run NF.exe.
This will get you a pretty GUI window.
Find the ROM image(NOT the patch) in the left pane. Yes, the one that ends with .smc. No, not the one that ends in .ips
Right-click it. With the right mouse button. Just once.
This will bring up a menu. This menu will have several options in it.
Point at "add headers to selected" With your mouse cursor.
Now press the left mouse button to select it. Again, just once. That will activate the highlighted menu option.
If you've done everything right, your ROM image will now have a header, and when you patch it, it will just work... well, as close to work as SMT ever comes, I gather it's a fairly glitchy game straight from the factory.!


Alternatively, open one of the lovely text files that comes with the application. NSRT.txt will tell you to open NF.txt, which will tell you what I just typed out. Really, is it that hard to read a manual?
IP Logged

APPRIVOISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tenacious2
Initiate
*
Posts: 7



« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2010, 01:43:34 PM »

I did not know what option to use to add the header but I thank you for your instructions otherwise. That aside it was not the only reason I was having problems. I was applying the patch to a version of Shin Megami Tense referred to as version 1.1. When I found and downloaded version 1.0 and applied a header and the patch it worked perfectly. Would any of you know why this was causing me problems?
IP Logged
TCM
Acolyte
**
Posts: 79


« Reply #13 on: October 03, 2010, 03:45:11 PM »

"THIS PATCH IS FOR USE WITH THE FOLLOWING (INCORRECTLY)
LABELED ROM _ONLY_: "DIGITAL DEVIL STORY V1.0 (J)"
DO NOT TRY TO USE IT WITH V1.1, IT WILL _NOT_ WORK."


Copied from the "Please Note" section at the very top of the readme.

I note you are 11 years old, in your profile. Are you sure that you're capable of playing SMT? It's not going to give you pretty little instructions, like the obvious ones from the readme files for NSRT or the patch itself.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2010, 03:53:07 PM by TCM » IP Logged

Signatures? We're in the lap of luxury now!
Gideon Zhi
Archmagus
Cleric
*****
Posts: 451



« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2010, 04:48:37 PM »

And this, ladies and gentlemen, is why I never answer patch help requests. It's an exercise in frustration, and everyone almost always goes away miserable.
IP Logged

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.17 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!