The Pantheon
September 29, 2020, 01:21:23 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Major Release News ~ Shin Megami Tensei if... v1.00  (Read 19194 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Gideon Zhi
Archmagus
Cleric
*****
Posts: 451



« on: October 25, 2018, 04:07:43 AM »

It´s been a long road, but today AGTP releases a complete translation for Shin Megami Tensei if... on the Super Nintendo/Super Famicom. For me personally this journey has encompassed a second undergraduate degree, a cross-country move, a complete career change, multiple periods of both employment and unemployment, the licensure of one of our translation patches, and the beginnings of a family, in addition to having to deal with several project-related IRC and Discord raids, hate speech, and generalized harassment from the SMT community at large. It´s done, and I *will* maintain the patch should anyone find any bugs or typos. But that´s it.

I do this for the enjoyment of the process, to challenge myself to produce work of ever-higher caliber. if... hits a high enough bar at this point that I´m satisfied releasing it. I hope everyone who´s been clamoring for the patch gets some enjoyment out of it; I´ll let the game speak for itself.

With Majin Tensei 2 being mostly done elsewhere, don´t expect any further Megami Tensei work out of AGTP. No updated patch for SMT1, no back-porting of if...´s work into SMT2, no Majin Tensei 1. I´m done. To those who were looking forward to the aforementioned, I truly apologize. Maybe focus on cleaning up your community.

And now, I´m going on vacation.
Screenshot Screenshot
IP Logged

KingMike
High Order
Acolyte
*
Posts: 61


« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2018, 07:08:15 AM »

License of one of your translation patches?

I guess you mean Magical Drop 2.
I thought I read an article or video or something about a Data East compilation that mentioned Dark Lord and then I wondered if that was anything official or not.
IP Logged
Gideon Zhi
Archmagus
Cleric
*****
Posts: 451



« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2018, 07:37:44 AM »

I thought I read an article or video or something about a Data East compilation that mentioned Dark Lord and then I wondered if that was anything official or not.

Dark Lord is still under discussion at the moment. With all the stress I've been under the last few weeks - and smtif was only part of that - I've unfortunately been slow to respond in my correspondence..
IP Logged

salvatration
Initiate
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2018, 06:55:37 PM »

Got a lockup when I try to boot the game. Happens directly after the Atlus logo. Read-me said to post this to The Pantheon, and I don't see a bug report thread or anything unless I'm literally blind, so here it is. I tried both Direct3D and OpenGL.
https://imgur.com/a/bCyAv4R
IP Logged
ratix00
Initiate
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2018, 04:18:49 AM »

thank you,

This is one of the many games I had hoped to see. I've always waited on many translations you've announced and never popped in to discuss anything. You've always done top notch translations and have always given that extra polish. I will be playing this game an awful lot and await further releases of the other games you have in progress. I know these things take a great deal of time. So far the game works on the powerpak with no issues.

Got a lockup when I try to boot the game. Happens directly after the Atlus logo. Read-me said to post this to The Pantheon, and I don't see a bug report thread or anything unless I'm literally blind, so here it is. I tried both Direct3D and OpenGL.
https://imgur.com/a/bCyAv4R
have you tried to patch a different image of the game? you can also try to use snespurify to clean up the image. rom info says to patch it with the image carrying this CRC32: 4DD73CBA
it is also found here.

http://www.romhacking.net/translations/3951/
IP Logged
Xanathis
Beta Tester
Initiate
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2018, 06:45:52 AM »

Got a lockup when I try to boot the game. Happens directly after the Atlus logo. Read-me said to post this to The Pantheon, and I don't see a bug report thread or anything unless I'm literally blind, so here it is. I tried both Direct3D and OpenGL.
https://imgur.com/a/bCyAv4R

Make sure to use a clean version of the rom (no-intro). There's several other dumps floating around out there, including at least one trainered version, that won't work properly with the patch.
IP Logged
Shadow
Acolyte
**
Posts: 96



« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2018, 09:49:33 AM »

Harassment over a translation project someone does entirely free of charge and as part of a hobby that's supposed to be fun?

The nerve of some people...

Great work, Gid.
IP Logged
MKUltra91
Initiate
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2018, 07:23:39 PM »

Hello there from Argentina. A few hours ago I discovered that they released the patch, but after a short time of playing it, the following happened to me: I fight against a demon, and when the fight ends, I raise the level but instead of going up one level, I go up to the maximum, giving me all the points to fill up my status toope. I almost forgot, when starting the game and eat with the statistics between 23 and 24 points respectively. I do not know if this happens to someone else, but I would like you to solve this problem as soon as you return on vacation. It does not have any grace to advance with all its states to the maximum, it seems as if it were playing with cheat codes ... I do not know if I understand it.

Out of all this, I thank you very much for giving us the patch, and bacisamente had lost the faith that they were going to release.

https://imgur.com/kxFX2sj
IP Logged
Xanathis
Beta Tester
Initiate
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2018, 07:04:20 AM »

Hello there from Argentina. A few hours ago I discovered that they released the patch, but after a short time of playing it, the following happened to me: I fight against a demon, and when the fight ends, I raise the level but instead of going up one level, I go up to the maximum, giving me all the points to fill up my status toope. I almost forgot, when starting the game and eat with the statistics between 23 and 24 points respectively. I do not know if this happens to someone else, but I would like you to solve this problem as soon as you return on vacation. It does not have any grace to advance with all its states to the maximum, it seems as if it were playing with cheat codes ... I do not know if I understand it.

Out of all this, I thank you very much for giving us the patch, and bacisamente had lost the faith that they were going to release.

https://imgur.com/kxFX2sj


You didn't use a clean rom. The one you patched was the trainered version that's hacked to make you go to level 99 instantly. Look at the readme file that comes with the patch, it explains how to tell if you have the right version of the rom.
IP Logged
fuck David Cage
Initiate
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2018, 07:54:35 AM »

Can someone please link to a ROM that will work without immediately sending me to level 99?  I tried all the ROMs I could find and none of them worked.
IP Logged
Xanathis
Beta Tester
Initiate
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2018, 08:19:04 AM »

Can someone please link to a ROM that will work without immediately sending me to level 99?  I tried all the ROMs I could find and none of them worked.

Search for the "no-intro" version of the rom.
IP Logged
Dasvaun
Initiate
*
Posts: 1



« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2018, 10:51:06 AM »

Old fan with a long lost account. Figured this news was worth making a new one.
What you managed to create is definitely worth celebrating. Shame about the dark abyss that is the community.

That vactation is definitely well deserved. Hope you enjoy.
IP Logged
JayBee
Sentinel
Bishop
*****
Posts: 1326


« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2018, 09:49:03 PM »

... the beginnings of a family...
Congratulations!
IP Logged

APPRIVOISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wool
Initiate
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2019, 04:25:42 PM »

I made an account just to let you guys know what awe-inspiring work you have done! I just booted up my patched if... and its great! It is very unfortunate all the negativity you have had to deal with but I would like to say thank you so much for this release! 
IP Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.17 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!